The varieties of tea in our world….

All teas come from one type of tea plant - Camelia sinensis. However, because of the different processing techniques involved in crafting tea, we have 6 varieties of tea, each grouped into similar oxidation levels. From the least oxidised green tea; lightly oxidised white tea; special heaping processed yellow tea; partially oxidised and thus darker green coloured leaves of oolong tea (note: in china, Oolong is also called Qing Cha [青茶], Qing in Chinese character means dark green/jade green. Sometimes we see misleading translation of this word to blue in English, presumably because the Qing character in Japanese language means blue…e.g. Blue Tea of Mariage Feres); fully oxidised black tea (note: in China, black tea is referred to as Hong Cha [紅茶] meaning red tea), and finally naturally fermented dark tea. 

Each tea differs in its processing techniques and thus the infusion colour, taste, aroma, and flavour profile of each tea is completely unique. The photo shown is representative of each group, however, there are significant differences in infusion colours within each group. Difference in processing also influences on how we enjoy and appreciate each tea differently.

* The relationship of craft and taste in tea

All tea comes from the same tea tree called Camellia Sinesis. Within this group of plant species, there are tall and short trees, large and small leaf trees etc each subset of the group has many different varieties each with unique physical characteristics. Understanding the characteristics of each of these varieties, and using specific crafting method that suits individual variety of tea tree, one can create a myriad of different tastes and aroma. 

Learn more about craft >
Left Continue shopping
Your Order

You have no items in your cart